My Parent’s Anniversary

It has been a long time since my last post. My life has changed considerably and yet is very much the same. I have spent some time reflecting on who I am, who I have been, choices, fears, success, and failures. Mostly, I have been contemplating what I want for the future. For once, I am not thinking of what others expect of me, what I think I should do, but what is my passion and desires.

Ember helping me study

I decided a year and a half ago to go back to college. I was prompted by a need with The Brave and Unbroken Project for a mental health professional. I had no idea the fulfillment and passion it would unlock inside of me. My intention is still to work with survivors of childhood sexual abuse. However, I feel the calling inside of me to work with other minority communities as well. I would love to work with the LGBTQIA+ community, especially transgender people. I also feel drawn to racial healing and racial trauma victims. I still have a couple of years to keep thinking, I wish I could do it all!

I was very thankful today for my own therapist. He made the time today to check in with me because it is my parents’ wedding anniversary. It is also the day 22 years ago we held my Mom’s funeral. She passes 10 months after my Dad yet they never spent an anniversary apart. From the beginning of August (my Dad’s birthday) to mid December (my Mom’s birthday) traditionally has been a difficult time for me. They both passed away between those dates as well. I have learned to celebrate them when I start feeling the depression creep in. To honor what they taught me. That it is ok to feel my emotions around losing them when I was so young. However, I can’t set up residency within the depression and allow it to control me.

That is how I survived today,

Amy

Leave a comment