What if you fly?

fly

A lot of people that I know have been trying to find a “word of the year.” I have been thinking this is a great idea! But what do I want that to look like for me and my family. How can I turn that into something that I can make concrete enough for my literal brain yet creative enough to inspire my other side too? I finally came up with the word FLY. Inspired by the Erin Hansen quote “What if I fall? Oh, but my darling what if you fly?”

Something that has always held me back is my fear of failing. I rarely, willing, will try something I am afraid I won’t be able to do. I don’t have to do it perfectly the first time I am not that timid, but to utterly fail at something…well I simply do not deal with that very well. As a matter of fact failing will usually put me in such a tail spin of depression it will take awhile to crawl out. I know in my head this is silly. I mean come on, sometimes failing can be fun, failing teaches you lessons, everyone fails.  I know all of this, but there is this deep down fear.

So this is the year I am going to work on it. This is the year I will push barriers, try scary new things. Maybe just maybe, I will fly.

Leave a Reply

