School BBQ and Snickerdoodles

Today was the school BBQ, and with Rebel’s food issues I always find it easier to just pack us a lunch. It is a fun time to go and have lunch at school with your kids, we get to eat outside on the grass or in the lunch room and there is a book fair going on at the same time. How it usually works (and this year was no exception) I meet up with the kids, we hit the book fair and then head outside to eat and they completely ignore me and read books. This year Monkey got to go with me, of course it didn’t even start till an hour after his lunch time and all he wanted to do was run around and play on the playground. But he still managed to do great for the most part. Here they are ignoring me and reading, don’t get me wrong I love they love to read, but maybe add some books for adults so I have something to read too?

Princess and Rebel ignoring me at school BBQ
Princess and Rebel ignoring me at school BBQ

For a treat Monkey and I made some sugar free cookies to take with us to the BBQ. Since it was a last minute decision I needed something really quick, and preferably something that didn’t make a ton. I try to keep a box or 2 of sugar free cake mix around for just these times, I decided to make sugar free snickerdoodle cake mix cookies. These do not taste exactly like regular snickerdoodle cookies, they are sweeter and missing that cream of tarter bite. But for something that can be whipped up and done baking in about 30 minutes or less, they are great. There are recipes all over the web for how to use a cake mix and turn it into something else,  I have done the cookies a few times with different flavors, chocolate is probably my favorite, they turn out like brownie cookies. Yum! Back to snickerdoodles!

Sugar Free Snickerdoodle Cake Mix Cookies

1 Pkg sugar free vanilla cake mix

1/4 cup oil

2 eggs

Combine above ingredients into a dough.

Mix 2 Tblspn powdered Fructose and 1 tsp cinnamon in a small bowl

I use a 1 oz cookie scoop to measure dough, make into a ball and roll in cinnamon mixture, place on a greased cookie sheet and bake for 8 minutes at 350 degrees.

getting ready to mix
getting ready to mix
packing them up for BBQ
packing them up for BBQ

They were a  huge hit!

Now to cool down and rest…for maybe 10 min if I am lucky.

Amy

Leave a Reply

