Chores and Cookies

My house was in shambles after packing and unpacking, a 24 hour stomach bug hitting. I needed to clean, but I needed every one to help. I made up this chore game a couple years ago and it works well, but it can be slow. I take a cup for each area I want cleaned. This time I did living room, dining room, school room, bath room, bed room and other. On little slips of paper I write a specific chore in that room such as clean toilet, organize book shelf, sweep and in other things like wipe light switches. I also throw in a few 15 minute breaks and Stop every one make their bed. You will notice kitchen isn’t an option, Jeremy chose to deep clean the kitchen and I help when someone draws a chore they still struggle with and check to make sure things are done. Each cup is numbered 1-6, the kids roll a dice and choose a slip from that number cup. When a cup is empty I just assign its number to another cup.  

 

As a treat for all their hard work, I made some sugar-free oatmeal, peanut butter, chocolate chip cookies! When I was growing up my parents made these (not sugar-free) but I have lost the recipe. Britney and I played around tweeting recipes for awhile before we came up with these, they are darn close,  but  not perfect!  

 

Super Duper Oatmeal Cookies (sugar free)

3/4 cup softened butter

1 cup stevia

1/2 cup agave

1/4 cup water

1egg

1tsp vanilla

1cup flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

 3 Tbsn Peanut Butter

1tsp cinnamon

3 cups oatmeal

1 cup sugar free chocolate chips*

Cream butter, stevia, agave, water, egg and vanilla until fluffy. Mix in rest of ingredients. Bake at 350 for 8 minutes.

Makes about 3 1/2 dozen

*so far they only place I have found that carry these so far is Walmart or online.

Find your way to thrive!

Amy

Leave a Reply

